Photo by Tim Mossholder on

The weatherman has now released a list of names of tropical cyclones over north Indian Ocean, which includes the bay of Bengal and the Indian Ocean. Future storms in the northern Indian Ocean and Arabian Sea will be known by the names Shaheen, Rose, Tej, Agni. Earlier, the names of storms were named by eight countries together in 2004.

Globally there are six Regional Specialised Meteorological Centres (RSMCs) and five regional Tropical Cyclone Warning Centres (TCWCs). They are responsible of releasing names of the tropical cyclones.

Among the six RSMCs, one is IMD, providing advisories to 13 member nations including Bangladesh, India, Iran, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the UAE and Yemen.

13 names that have been chosen from these names are Arnab proposed by Bangladesh, Shaheen proposed by Qatar, Lulu proposed by Pakistan, Pinku proposed by Myanmar, Bahar proposed by Qatar, Gati ​​proposed by India and Murasu (Tamil musical instrument), Tej, Aag, Neer, Prabhanjan, Ghurni, Ambudh, Jaldhi and Veg. Nearly eight countries had earlier given a list of storm names to the World Meterological Organization. India had given names like Agni, Bijli, Megh, Sagar and Aakash. Pakistan proposed Nilofer, Bulbul and Titli. The naming convention started way back in 2004.

It was first the World Meteorological Organization that started naming cyclonic storms. This practice started in India from the year 2004.

If a cyclonic storm occurs in these eight countries, one name is chosen alternately among the sent names. In India, the name of a single storm is not used again for 10 years.

If it is about European countries, then America prepares a list of 21 names of storms every year. Because English do not have a tradition to name storms from Q, U, X, Y and Z alphabet. Therefore, if more than 21 storms come in a year, then they are named after the Greek alphabet alpha, beta, gamma. Cyclone storms are named after women in the year with the odd number, while the storms in the same year are based on the names of men.

The next storm is scheduled to be named Amphan which was proposed by Thailand.

Of the total 169, 13 names have been given each for the 13 member countries. Tropical cyclones forming over different ocean basins are named by the concerned RSMCs & TCWCs.